fashionjotter

From Day to Night

Posted on: 06/25/2011

Event: End of year financial party on 24 June 2011.

Dilemma: I have to work from 7:30 am to 7:00 pm. The party starts at 7:00 pm. I have no time to go home and change my day wear to night wear.

What to wear?

Thursday, 23 June 2011. 8:00 pm: The night before the party.

I decided to rummage through my limited wardrobe collection to see what options I have from changing my look from day to night without splitting hairs and exerting tremendous effort. I do not want to be too underdressed or too overdressed at work and during the party.

What would be the safest clothes to wear? Jeans.

Since it would be an evening event, a dark pair of jeans is the answer. I decided to opt for my skinny jeans (close to jeggings) since this is a good casual look during the day and can be stylish at night.

I chose a black frilly sleeveless top as this style and colour is universal.

I then said to myself that my ‘Eiffel Tower’ shoes would be the guest for the night. But I did not want to kill my feet by wearing heels the whole day at work so I decided that my snakeskin pattern ballet shoes would accompany me to work during the day.

Since my clothes are all dark and plain, choosing a pair of ballet shoes with pattern and camel colour would avoid a monotone look for me.

I have worked out my shoes but how do I transform my look from day to night? Simple.

The ensemble of a semi-casual look on a Friday at work would not be complete without a jacket. I chose a light brown (with little speck pattern) as the finale touch. So by night, since it would still be a work function, I chose a semi-long black, fine pinstripe jacket.

Viola! I’m ready for tomorrow.


My good old faithful snakeskin ballet shoes

My ‘Eiffel Tower’

Alternative

You can substitute the black shoes to a pair of hot red ones. By doing this, you can avoid an all-night black attire. Those red hot shoes would make you stand out from a swarm of all-black wearers of the crowd. You will be proud of clicking those red shoes more than twice! No Dorothy for the night.

Like them when they’re hot!

Jeans: Guess. Top: Bardot. Jackets: Theme (Day Look). Cue (Night Look). Shoes: Therapy. Satchi. Nine West.

Leave a Reply

fashionjotter


3F's in my life: Family. Fashion. Food.
3F's in my occupation: Fashion Jotter. Fashion Stylist. Fashionographer.

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Read Me

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 93 other followers

